A History of Accomplishments

1965American Schizophrenia Association (ASA) founded, New York
1968Canadian Schizophrenia Foundation (CSF) founded, Toronto with Irwin Kahan as director general and Ben Webster as chair
1971ASA name changed to Huxley Institute for Biosocial Research
1972Journal of Orthomolecular Psychiatry first published, copyright owned by the Huxley Institute
1986Journal of Orthomolecular Psychiatry becomes Journal of Orthomolecular Medicine (JOM)
1987Irwin Kahan retires and Steven Carter becomes Executive Director of CSF
1989Nutritional Medicine Today conference introduced, replacing the CSF annual meeting
1992The Huxley Institute ceases operation and holdings transferred to CSF, including the JOM
1994International Society for Orthomolecular Medicine (ISOM) founded with Dr. Abram Hoffer as president and Steven Carter as director

Dr. Linus Pauling dies

1997Ben Webster dies
1998Jack Kay elected CSF chair
2003CSF name changes to the International Schizophrenia Foundation and received $650,000 from the Carl C. Pfeiffer Institute
2004Orthomolecular Medicine Hall of Fame instituted and Orthomolecular Medicine Today conference replaces Nutritional Medicine Today
2005First ISF Summit held in Panama City, Florida
2007First Lifetime Achievement Gala hosted by ISF in Toronto
2008JOM digitized
2009Canadian Society for Orthomolecular Medicine established

Abram Hoffer, MD, dies

2012The Evan Shute Foundation for Medical research donates $500,000 for health professional education and the first Annual Evan Shute Memorial lecture held

Mindful program officially launched

2016Integrative Orthomolecular Network replaces ISF and ionhealth.org launched

ISOM begins to operate independently, with responsibility for Orthomolecular Medicine Today conference and JOM